Alexisonfire Announce First New Album in 13 Years

'Otherness' arrives on June 24 through Dine Alone Records

Photo: Vanessa Heins

BY Allie GregoryPublished Mar 10, 2022

After calling it quits more than a decade ago, reuniting on-stage in Toronto back in 2015, and releasing a handful of sporadic singles, solo efforts and a live album, Ontario post-hardcore legends Alexisonfire are officially back with plans for their first new studio album since 2009. The previously rumoured new material, Otherness, is due to arrive on June 24 through Dine Alone Records — nearly 20 years on from the release of their self-titled debut.

Otherness — billed as their "most cohesive and self-actualized record to date" — is previewed today by its lead single, "Sweet Dreams of Otherness," of which co-lead vocalist George Pettit shared in a statement, "This song was largely Dallas [Green's] brainchild but over the course of writing this record it became more of a mission statement for the band."

He added: "It's kind of about performance and embracing a newfound confidence in a state of peculiarity."

The track has also been treated to own music video directed by fellow Canadian, actor/comedian Jay Baruchel. That will premiere later today, at 6 p.m. ET via the band's YouTube channel.

Alongside the new single, the record arrives with a mission statement from the band:

A continuous thread through the fabric of Alexisonfire is the state of otherness. Otherness drew us all to spaces where a band like this could be formed. We attract the type of individuals that have all felt the sensation of being strange or unique. Perceived or otherwise, otherness has followed us through childhood, adolescence, and into our adult lives. It drives our tastes and proclivities. It bonds us with ourselves and others. And make no mistake, even at our most domestic and mundane moments, we are true outliers.

Speaking on their legacy and the band's return to the creative process, Pettit added in a statement, "As much as we love playing the old songs, we don't want to be a nostalgia act. The only reason to come back is if we feel we still have something to say."

He continued: "We spent so much time on the road thinking that if we stopped, people would lose interest. But when we went away, it only got bigger. We all carved new paths for ourselves, so coming back to Alexisonfire is a purely enjoyable creative venture. Something special happens when we get in a room together."

As noted in press materials, the album came together as a "family affair" over the span of about a week. Additional contributions come from longtime collaborator of Green, Matt Kelly, who lends organ, keys and pedal steel on the record. Otherness was mixed by Fucked Up's Jonah Falco and engineered by Jill Zimmerman and Darren "Jeter" Magierowski at Jukasa Recording Studios.

Pre-orders for the album go live today at 11 a.m. ET here. Until then, peep the official tracklist and listen to "Sweet Dreams of Otherness" below, where you can also tune in at 6 p.m. ET for the new video.


1. Committed to the Con
2. Sweet Dreams of Otherness
3. Sans Soleil
4. Conditional Love
5. Blue Spade
6. Dark Night of the Soul
7. Mistaken Information
8. Survivor's Guilt
9. Reverse the Curse
10. World Stops Turning

Alexisonfire have lined up a handful of tour dates in the coming months, with their lone Canadian performance taking place at Ottawa's RBC Bluesfest in July alongside Rage Against the Machinethe National, Alanis Morissette, Sarah McLachlan, Jack Johnson, TLC and more. 

Latest Coverage