The Franklin Electric Focus on Lyricism on 'Never Look Back'

Stream the EP in full

BY Kaitlin IrvingPublished Nov 20, 2020

Montreal-based indie collective the Franklin Electric are back with new material. Their newest EP, Never Look Back, arrives today via Nettwerk and you can listen to it in full down below.

Upon completing a successful 2019/2020 headline tour, supporting the release of In Your Head and In Your Heart, frontman Jon Matte headed to Nashville to record the new EP with Old Sea Brigade's Ben Cramer.

Despite COVID-19 sending shock waves around the world in the midst of recording — causing Matte to head back to Canada and have recording, production and mixing finalized remotely between borders — Never Look Back prevailed. The record includes three original songs and four reimagined ones.

"The idea was to strip certain songs in order to focus mainly on the lyrical content," Matte explained of the record in a statement.

The Franklin Electric released their debut album back in 2014, and they've been touring their various records ever since, offering live support to bands like Mumford & Sons, Edward Sharpe and City and Colour. Back in 2018, the band earned a Juno nomination for Breakthrough Group of the Year.

Stream Never Look Back and watch the video for the single "Just Ain't Mine" below.


Latest Coverage