Sunglaciers Announce New Album 'Regular Nature,' Share Lead Single

The group once again teamed up with producer Chad VanGaalen

BY Ben OkazawaPublished Jan 30, 2024

Calgary psych pop foursome Sunglaciers have announced that their third album Regular Nature will arrive on March 29 via Mothland.

The New Faves alumni were initially recognized by Exclaim! as an emerging Canadian artist for their "direct and concise songwriting" on sophomore project Subterranea

Now, with their follow-up effort in sight, the group — along with long-time producer Chad VanGaalen — promise that they'll continue experimenting with their sound. 

"We wanted to make a concise yet explosive record, continuing to find the balance between familiar and novel sounds and approaches. We have not and may never make 'dance music,' but we make continued efforts to bring sounds that we like from dance and electronic genres into our own, delighting in the process as much as the product," they shared in a joint statement. "We love to play and experiment, defying expectations and discovering new sounds. This record shows how these novel (to us) elements interact with the rock and roll world we comfortably inhabit."

To celebrate the announcement, Sunglaciers shared Regular Nature's lead single, marking their first release since Subterranea came out nearly two years ago. The track comes with an accompanying music video directed by lead vocalist Evan Resnik.

Check out "Cursed," which the group have labelled their "biggest downer to date," below, along with the Regular Nature tracklist. 

Regular Nature:

1. Fakes
2. Right Time
3. Undermine
4. Cursed
5. Kafka
6. I Remember the Days
7. Interlude
8. Frog Mask
9. A.I.
10. Reef
11. Not Ready
12. Rotten Teeth
13. Gov Shut
14. One Time or Another
15. Waiting for Nothing

Latest Coverage