Joni Mitchell Collects Her Love Songs onto New Box Set

Joni Mitchell Collects Her Love Songs onto New Box Set
Looking for a present for the Joni Mitchell fan on your Christmas list? The Canadian folk icon is making your holiday shopping a little easier this year by releasing a four-disc box set called Love Has Many Faces: A Quartet, A Ballet, Waiting to Be Danced. It will be out on November 18 through Rhino.

The box set includes 53 songs, curated by Mitchell herself, and all have been remastered. The songwriter initially attempted to distill her vision of love into a single-disc compilation, but she ended up creating what a press release calls "a four-act ballet." These have been sequenced according to theme, and although the music has been previously released, there has apparently been "a lot of sonic adjustment."

"I had 40 years of footage to review. Then, suddenly, scenes began to hook up. Then series began to form," Mitchell said in a statement. "Instead of it being an emotional roller coaster ride as it was before-crammed into one disc-themes began to develop. Moods sustained. I was getting there...When this long editorial process (two years) finally came to rest, I had four ballets or a four-act ballet-a quartet. I also had a box set."

The package also includes six new paintings and an "autobiographical text" about the singer's recording process.

You can see the full tracklist below.

Love Has Many Faces: A Quartet, A Ballet, Waiting to Be Danced:

Disc 1:

1. In France They Kiss On Main Street
2. Ray's Dad's Cadillac
3. You Turn Me On I'm A Radio
4. Harlem In Havana
5. Car On A Hill
6. Dancin Clown
7. River
8. Chinese Cafe/Unchained Melody
9. Harry's House/Centerpiece
10. Shades Of Scarlett Conquering
11. Number One
12. The Windfall (Everything For Nothing)
13. Come In From The Cold

Disc 2:

1. Court And Spark
2. No Apologies
3. Trouble Child
4. Not To Blame
5. Nothing Can Be Done
6. Comes Love
7. Moon At The Window
8. Blue
9. Tax Free
10. The Wolf That Lives In Lindsey
11. Hana
12. Hejira
13. Stay In Touch
14. Night Ride Home

Disc 3:

1. You Re My Thrill
2. The Crazy Cries Of Love
3. Love Puts On A New Face
4. Borderline
5. A Strange Boy
6. You Dream Flat Tires
7. Love
8. All I Want
9. Be Cool
10. Yvette In English
11. Just Like This Train
12. Carey
13. The Only Joy In Town

Disc 4:

1. Don Juan's Reckless Daughter
2. Two Grey Rooms
3. God Must Be A Boogie Man
4. Down To You
5. A Case Of You
6. The Last Time I Saw Richard
7. Raised On Robbery
8. Sweet Sucker Dance
9. Lakota
10. Cool Water
11. Amelia
12. Both Sides Now
13. My Best To You