Donovan Woods Gets Madi Diaz, William Prince for New Album 'Things Were Never Good If They're Not Good Now'

Hear lead single "Rosemary"

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Feb 28, 2024

Sarnia-born, Toronto-based folk troubadour Donovan Woods has announced his seventh full-length album, led by new single "Rosemary."

Co-produced with longtime collaborator James Bunton, Things Were Never Good If They're Not Good Now is out July 12 via Woods's own End Times Music. It's the follow-up to his acclaimed 2020 LP Without People, as well as the 2022 EP Big Hurt Boy.

The new record features collaborations with Nashville singer-songwriter Madi Diaz (who just released her excellent new album Weird Faith) and beloved Winnipeg storyteller William Prince, as well as songs co-written with the likes of Lori McKenna, Matt Nathanson, Amy Wadge, Matt Prime and Connor Seidel, who co-wrote lead single "Rosemary." 

Of the track, Woods remarked:

Have you ever had a fight by text message? And it’s long, and existential. Someone did something wrong and maybe that’s it. Maybe the bond can’t be repaired. Well this song is about returning home to someone after having one of those, and offering yourself up. It’s about finally admitting all your faults, showing your actual self and asking, can you still love me? And really wanting an answer either way.

Despite the difficult sentiment, the song itself is imbued with a nostalgic warmth as the artist questions if the person ever really knew him with his signature heartrending honesty. Give it a listen — and check out the album tracklist — below.

Things Were Never Good If They're Not Good Now:

1. Rosemary
2. 116 West Main, Durham, NC 
3. Trompsingel (Another Life)
4. It’s Been Like That for a While
5. Living Well 
6. Well Read
7. Back for the Funeral
8. Don’t Talk to Her at Night
9. I’m Just Trying to Get Home (feat. William Prince)
10. When Our Friends Come Over (feat. Madi Diaz)
11. All Raked Flat

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage