Def Leppard Unveil New Album 'Diamond Star Halos,' Share Single

The band's 12th LP arrives alongside their 45th anniversary

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Mar 17, 2022

Celebrating their 45th anniversary as a band this year, rock lifers Def Leppard are back with plans to unleash their 12th studio album — led by new single "Kick."

Titled after a lyric from T. Rex's 1971 glam rock hit "Bang a Gong (Get It On)," Diamond Star Halos lands on May 27 via Universal. It's Def Leppard's first full-length follow-up to their 2015 self-titled effort.

Notably, the rockers recruited country bluegrass singer-songwriter Alison Krauss to sing on a pair of tracks. Bandleader Joe Elliot told USA Today that, according to Robert Plant, Def Leppard are Krauss's favourite band. "I texted her and asked if she fancied singing on one of our tunes and she texted me back within 30 minutes and said, 'Oh my God, I can't pick one — I love them both,'" Elliot recalled. "So we said, 'How about you do them both?'"

The 15-track release is well-timed: the outfit are hitting Toronto, Vancouver and Edmonton this summer on their long-awaited, oft-postponed co-headlining North American tour with Mötley Crüe.

Get your first taste by listening to "Kick" below, where you'll also find the full album tracklist.

Diamond Star Halos:

1. Take What You Want
2. Kick
3. Fire It Up
4. This Guitar (feat. Alison Krauss)
5. SOS Emergency
6. Liquid Dust
7. U Rok Mi
8. Goodbye For Good
9. All We Need
10. Open Your Eyes
11. Gimme a Kiss
12. Angels
13. Lifeless (feat. Alison Krauss)
14. Unbreakable
15. From Here to Eternity

Pre-order Diamond Star Halos.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage