Alexisonfire's Wade MacNeil Details Debut as Dooms Children

Watch a video for new song "Psyche Hospital Blues"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jul 28, 2021

Having delivered a debut single in May, Wade MacNeil has now detailed his first album as Dooms Children. The Alexisonfire/Gallows/Black Lungs player will release a self-titled LP on October 20 through Dine Alone Records.

MacNeil calls Dooms Children "the most personal music I have ever released." Co-produced with Daniel Romano, the 11-song album was recorded live-off-the-floor alongside multi-instrumentalist Ian Romano and guitarist Patrick Bennett.

Following the previously shared "Flower Moon," "Psyche Hospital Blues" is the latest to arrive from the album. Directed by Mitch Barnes, the video for the song features MacNeil as a biker letting his locks blow in the breeze before a twist ending.

"I tried to be honest (brutally at times) and not hide meaning or intent behind flowery language," MacNeil shares of Dooms Children in a statement. "It's a record about my life falling apart and then trying to pick up the pieces. This album was half written while I was messed up pre-rehab, the other half while I was in rehab. This is a record about all the people I've met along the way. This is a record about hope. This is me at my most vulnerable."

Dooms Children:

1. Trip With Me
2. Flower Moon
3. Psyche Hospital Blues
4. Skeleton Beach
5. Morningstar
6. Lotus Eater
7. Heavy Year
8. Chinatown Glow
9. Spring Equinox
10. Friend of the Devil
11. Stardust Lullaby

Pre-order Dooms Children.

Latest Coverage