The Elwins Detail New Album 'IV'

Watch their video for the record's "Weight of the World"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jun 26, 2020

Newmarket indie rock four-piece, the Elwins, have shared plans for their fourth full-length record, aptly titled IV. The new album arrives via Pink Eye Recordings on September 18.

Ahead of the album's release, the Ontario band have shared its second single, "Weight of the World" alongside a Wyatt Clough-directed music video.

"This is a story speaking to how everyone has to deal with the weight of the world in one way or another," frontman Matthew Sweeney said of the track in a release. "That kind of brings us together in a sense. just a friendly reminder that everyone has got this shit feeling from time to time, some more than others, but all you can really do is to try and take it easy on yourself." 

Previously, the Elwins shared the album's lead single "Take Me All the Way," which arrived back in April. The upcoming IV will mark their first studio release since 2017's Beauty Community. Last year, drummer Travis Stokl launched new solo project sivarT.

Watch the video for "Weight of the World" below, where you'll also find the record's tracklisting.


1. Something Is Happening Here
2. Take Me All The Way
3. Rockin' The Horse
4. Let Her Be The One
5. Giving Up On Yourself
6. I Will
7. Weight Of The World
8. Slow Motion
9. Backyard At My Mom's
10. Hung Up
11. 1971
12. Daughter Song
13. Hold On To Love

Latest Coverage