Symphony Orchestra Announce Debut Album, Share First Single "Intersection"

A new team-up from Maximilian Turnbull and Michael Rault

BY Kaelen BellPublished Mar 6, 2023

Maximilian Turnbull (a.k.a. Slim Twig) and Michael Rault have teamed up for a new project called Symphony Orchestra, and today sees the duo announce their debut album Radiant Music, arriving May 12 on Telephone Explosion

Alongside the album announcement, the pair have also shared their debut single "Intersection," a dusty, organic funk-pop offering that somewhat recalls the muscular throwback textures of U.S. Girls' 2018 record In a Poem Unlimited, which featured extensive contributions from Turnbull and Rault. 

Radiant Music finds Rault acting as one-man rhythm section and lead vocalist while Turnbull brings his distinctive chords and sharp lyrics — the duo trade off on guitar and keys duty from song to song. The majority of the record was self-engineered over the course of three sessions in 2018 at Rault's Montreal studio before stalling. 

After Rault moved to Los Angeles and Turnbull welcomed twin boys, the pair revisited Symphony Orchestra, finishing the record with "Concerto" and "Unthink the Thinkable." The album was mixed by Steve Chahley and Tony Price (who's worked with U.S. Girls, BÉE, Jane Inc and more).

Listen to "Intersection" and see the Radiant Music tracklist below. 

Radiant Music:

1. Radiant Music 
2. Harp in the Wind
3. Unthink the Thinkable
4. Know Thyself
5. Intersection 
6. Concerto
7. Milky Blue

Pre-order Radiant Music.

Latest Coverage