Skydiggers Announce 'Warmth of the Sun' Album

You can hear its title track now
Skydiggers Announce 'Warmth of the Sun' Album
Once again, long-running Canadian folk unit Skydiggers are gifting their faithful with a new album. Titled Warmth of the Sun, the band's ninth album will arrive on October 20 via Latent Recordings.

The record follows last year's covers-minded Here Without You, with the group this time getting back into delivering some original material. As so often has been the case, the album was recorded with Cowboy Junkie Michael Timmins.

Warmth of the Sun features both singer Andy Maize and guitarist Josh Finlayson, along with the rhythm section of Derrick Brady (bass) and Noel Webb (drums), vocalist Jessy Bell Smith, and multi-instrumentalist Aaron Comeau.

"Warmth of the Sun is a reflection of the live band, how good the players are, how quick they are," said Skydiggers leader Andy Maize in a statement. "And we wanted to capture that energy and not overthink it."

For a taste of that, you can watch a new video for the album's title track at the bottom of the page. According to the band, "Warmth of the Sun" was inspired by Gord Downie's Secret Path album.

"I had been thinking a lot about truth and reconciliation with First Nations and aboriginals in Canada, which was sparked by my friend Gord's project," Finlayson said in a statement. "I spent a lot of time working on that and trying to figure out what I wanted to say. That song took the better part of a year for me to finish. But it was a song that needed that time, musically and lyrically."

Maize added, "I don't think it was intentional, but I can hear a thread on these songs about reaching out, being honest with yourself and making a connection with people, in order to get to a better place. That's definitely a goal for us, it always is."

While the bulk of the new album is made up of new Skydiggers originals, it also features a cover of the Tragically Hip's "The Rock," as well as "The Air That I Breathe," best known as a hit by the Hollies.

Below the tracklist, you'll find some upcoming tour dates from the group, as well as that lyric video for "Warmth of the Sun." Warmth of the Sun will arrive digitally, on CD and vinyl.

Warmth of the Sun:

1. Warmth Of The Sun
2. Push Comes To Shove
3. Don't Try To Explain
4. Show Me The Night
5. The Rock
6. An Apology
7. Like A New Beginning
8. Needle & Thread
9. Time Of Season
10. When You're On A Roll
11. Nothing Lasts Forever
12. The Air That I Breathe

Tour dates:

11/15 Winnipeg, MB - West End Cultural Centre
11/16 Calgary, AB - The Ironwood
11/17 Calgary, AB - The Ironwood
11/18 Edmonton, AB - The Needle Vinyl Tavern
11/20 Saskatoon, SK - The Broadway Theatre
11/29 Peterborough, ON - Market Hall *
12/01 Kingston, ON - Isabel Bader Theatre #
12/06 London, ON - Aeolian Hall *
12/07 Kitchener, ON - Centre In The Square *
12/08 Hamilton, ON - Hamilton Public Library *
12/14 Meaford, ON - Meaford Hall *
12/15 Barrie, ON - Mavrick's Music Hall *
12/16 Gravenhurst, ON - Gravenhurst Opera House *
12/20 Ottawa, ON - NAC Studio Hall *
12/22 Toronto, ON - Horseshoe Tavern *
12/23 Toronto, ON - Horseshoe Tavern *

 * A Skydiggers Christmas
# A Skydiggers & Friends Christmas – Fundraiser for Kingston Hospice