Royal Blood Detail New Album 'Typhoons'

Hear the title track from the UK duo's third LP now

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jan 21, 2021

Royal Blood have returned with details of a new album. The English duo will share third full-length LP Typhoons on April 30 through Warner.

The 11-track Typhoons was predominantly produced by the duo of Mike Kerr and Ben Thatcher, with "Boilermaker" produced by Queens of the Stone Age frontman Josh Homme. It follows Royal Blood's 2017 sophomore album How Did We Get So Dark?

For Typhoons, Kerr and Thatcher sought to take a back-to-basics approach that defined their self-titled 2014 debut, while also honouring their influences in early music-making — namely French electronic mainstays Daft Punk, Justice and late Cassius member Philippe Zdar.

"We sort of stumbled on this sound, and it was immediately fun to play," recalled Kerr in a statement. "That's what sparked the creativity on the new album, the chasing of that feeling. It's weird, though — if you think back to 'Figure It Out,' it kind of contains the embryo of this album. We realized that we didn't have to completely destroy what we'd created so far; we just had to shift it, change it. On paper, it's a small reinvention. But when you hear it, it sounds so fresh."

Thematically, Typhoons is said to explore the flipside of success for the duo. Its title track, which you can hear below, finds Kerr singing of "all these chemicals / Dancing through my veins" in meditating on times before new-found sobriety: "I keep waking up / I should face the truth / I could calm the storm / If I wanted to."


1. Trouble's Coming
2. Oblivion
3. Typhoons
4. Who Needs Friends
5. Million & One
6. Limbo
7. Either You Want It
8. Boilermaker
9. Mad Visions
10. Hold On
11. All We Have Is Now

Pre-order Typhoons.

Latest Coverage