Revisit Tom Petty's "Angel Dream (No. 2)" from His Upcoming Posthumous Release

The track appears on 'Angel Dream (Songs and Music from the Motion Picture She's the One)'
Revisit Tom Petty's 'Angel Dream (No. 2)' from His Upcoming Posthumous Release
Tom Petty is once again being celebrated with a new posthumous release. This time, the late rock legend will be honoured with an album called Angel Dream (Songs and Music from the Motion Picture She's the One), which is set to arrive this Saturday (June 12) as part of Record Store Day. For a taste, we can now check out a newly shared visualizer for the album's "Angel Dream (No. 2)."

Angel Dream is due out this weekend on limited cobalt blue vinyl, but it will then get a wide release on CD, digitally and on black wax come July 2. It all comes ahead of the 25th anniversary of Petty's Songs and Music from She's the One, which was the ninth album by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers and served as the soundtrack for the 1996 Ed Burns film She's the One.

While "Angel Dream (No. 2)." appeared on the original tracklist, the reissue includes four additional songs from the Wildflowers period: "One of Life's Little Mysteries," "Thirteen Days," "105 Degrees" and "French Disconnection," as well as an extended edition of "Supernatural Radio."

"These songs are extremely special," Dana Petty, Tom's widow, said in a statement. "I am grateful this record is getting the recognition it deserves. The remix Ryan Ulyate did sounds amazing, and the unreleased gems are a lovely bonus. Annakim, Adria, and I took a lot of time finding artwork that reflects the mood of the album. I think we finally achieved that with Alia Penner's work. It is surreal and beautiful, just like life during that time."

Heartbreakers' Benmont Tench added:

She's the One was originally a great way to include some of the songs that didn't make it on to Wildflowers, but it has its own thing to it, its own charm, and putting it out now in a restructured form makes for a sweet little treat. At the time in the studio, it was fun working as a band to improvise the scoring cues for the movie rather than playing to preset click tracks and a written score.

And It was interesting to try to cut covers of others' songs for a record, instead of learning covers just for live shows. We got a nice vibey version of Beck's song and I've always loved Lucinda's song "Change the Locks," so I was more than happy to cut it with our band. Oh, and this album has "Angel Dream" on it, one of the loveliest songs Tom ever wrote.

You can check out a newly shared visualizer from "Angel Dream (No. 2)" below, where you'll also find the tracklisting for the upcoming release.

Check out Exclaim!'s picks for this year's Record Store Day.

Angel Dream (Songs and Music from the Motion Picture She's the One):


1. Angel Dream (No. 2)

2. Grew Up Fast

3. Change The Locks

4. Zero From Outer Space

5. Asshole


6. One of Life's Little Mysteries

7. Walls (No. 3)

8. Thirteen Days

9. 105 Degrees

10. Climb That Hill

11. Supernatural Radio (Extended Version)

12. French Disconnection

Pre-order Angel Dream (Songs and Music from the Motion Picture She's the One