Rachel Bobbitt Announces 'The Ceiling Could Collapse' EP, Shares Reflective New Single

The six-track debut is due July 15

BY Kayla HigginsPublished May 24, 2022

Nova Scotia-born, Toronto-based musician Rachel Bobbitt has announced her debut EP, The Ceiling Could Collapse — and has today lifted new single "Gemini Tiles" off of the forthcoming record.

To be released via Fantasy Records on July 15th, the six-track collection was described in a press release as centring on "the cycles of life and how we find meaning in extremes: pain, joy, wonder, love."

The announcement follows the release of Bobbitt's emotional single "More," which was featured on NPR Music's All Songs Considered, earlier this month.

In the new single, aptly named "Gemini Ties," Bobbitt shares a look into the experience of being a twin. A nostalgic, almost mournful brew of folk and indie rock, the single centres on the inseparable connection between two like-minded people, and the persistent, yet unrealistic need to shelter them from the world. 

Drawing inspiration for the EP's title from a deleted scene in Ari Aster's Hereditary, an existential mantra resonated with Bobbitt: that questioning why bad things happen is pointless in a world where the roof could just fall on you at any moment. "We need to accept that we can't have our minds fixated on all these things that could happen, and we need to move on — but also, the ceiling could just collapse," she said in a statement.

After enlisting the help of co-producer Justice Der and drummer Stephen Bennett, the trio spent a week-and-a-half recording the EP at Bennett's studio in Brampton, with Grammy-nominated mixer Jorge Elbrecht bringing the arrangements to precision. 

Watch the video for "Gemini Ties" below, where you'll also find the EP's tracklist.

The Ceiling Could Collapse:

1. More
2. Watch and See
3. Gemini Ties
4. Bandages
5. What About the Kids
6. For Keeps

Latest Coverage