Muzz Announce Debut Self-Titled Album

Listen to their new single "Red Western Sky"
Muzz Announce Debut Self-Titled Album
After releasing a number of singles from their mysterious new project, Muzz, Bonny Light Horseman's Josh Kaufman, the Walkmen's Matt Barrick and Interpol's Paul Banks have lifted the veil on their debut self-titled 12-track LP, which is due June 5 via Matador Records.

The trio formed early last month, teasing the forthcoming project with a cryptic message, "something Muzzy this way comes." 

Barrick (who also performs with Fleet Foxes) had the following to say about their union:

Josh has more training as a theory musician while Paul comes from a different perspective. You never know how Paul's gonna approach a song, lyrically and melodically, so it's always unusual and exciting. Everyone is open to everyone else's ideas. I think three is a great number of people for a band. We all had a big hand in everything.

Kaufman added: "The music has this weird, super removed vibe but is also personal and emotional at the same time. If something felt natural in a simple way, we left it. I'd never heard Paul's voice framed like that — a string section, horns, guitars — we know none of that is visionary but it felt classic and kind of classy."

Today the band have shared the album's third single, "Red Western Sky" alongside its Derek Sexton Horani-directed music video shot in Oaks, PA, at the American Treasure Tour Museum. It follows the release of album singles "Bad Feeling" and "Broken Tambourine."

Watch the video below, where you can also find the record's tracklisting. The album art can be seen above.

Pre-order Muzz.


1. Bad Feeling
2. Evergreen
3 Red Western Sky
4. Patchouli
5. Everything Like It Used To Be
6. Broken Tambourine
7. Knuckleduster
8. Chubby Checker
9. How Many Days
10. Summer Love
11. All Is Dead To Me
12. Trinidad