Monomyth Return with 'Happy Pop Family'

Monomyth Return with 'Happy Pop Family'
East Coast indie crew Monomyth have shaken up their make-up a bit since issuing 2014's Saturnalia Regalia!, and you can discover what makes the latest iteration of the group tick on forthcoming sophomore set Happy Pop Family. The new album arrives November 4 via Mint Records.

A press release explains that songwriters/guitarists Josh Salter and Seamus Dalton, who both also play in Nap Eyes, picked up a new rhythm section for the 11-song LP. Drumming on the record is multi-instrumentalist Scott Grundy (Heaven For Real/Quaker Parents), who had also toured with Nap Eyes as a fill-in guitarist, while Andrew Mazerolle played the bass. The foursome tracked Happy Pop Family with producer Mike Wright back in February of 2015 over at Montreal's Drones Club.

Described as a collection of "mid-fi anthemic bedroom pop," the new album has Monomyth inspecting anything from isolation ("Aloha"), to soured relationships ("Fuck With Me," "Cool Blue Hello") to the "mundanity of being in a rock and roll band" ("Re: Lease Life").

Two months ahead of the record's official release, Monomyth are treating listeners to a stream of Happy Pop Family's "Puppet Creek." You can hear the wavy, guitar-duelling piece of psych-pop below, courtesy of Stereogum.

Happy Pop Family:

1. Aloha
2. Puppet Creek
3. Re: Lease Life (Place 2 Go)
4. Drinking in Bed in E
5. Cool Blue Hello
6. Falling in Love
7. High on Sunshine
8. Go Somewhere
9. Palpitations
10. New Year's Resolver
11. Fuck With Me