Dana Gavanski Announces Sophomore Album 'When It Comes,' Shares New Single

"Indigo Highway" arrives with a Daisy Dickinson-directed video

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Feb 1, 2022

Serbian-Canadian singer-songwriter and Exclaim! New Faves alum Dana Gavanski is back with the details of her sophomore studio album, alongside a Daisy Dickinson-direction video for new single "Indigo Highway."

When It Comes is set to arrive on April 29 via Flemish Eye/Full Time Hobby, marking the follow-up to Gavanski's 2020 debut Yesterday Is Gone, as well as the 2020 covers EP Wind Songs. The nine-track offering — mixed by Tunng and LUMP's Mike Lindsay — also includes the November 2021 single "Letting Go."

The artist recently faced a singer's worse nightmare: she found herself beginning to lose her voice while in quarantine. Mourning her "lost" vocal cords as her signature soprano lilt faded informed how she wrote the album, often reflecting the loneliness of the struggle and her defiance towards her ailing instrument.

"In many ways, this record feels like it is my first," Gavanski told The FADER. "When I could use my voice, I had to focus so there is an urgency and greater emotional trajectory than before… it's very connected to vocal presence, which extended into an existential questioning of my connection to music. It felt like a battle at times, which I frequently lost."

Watch the video for "Indigo Highway" and see the album tracklist below.

When It Comes:

1. I Kiss The Night
2. Bend Away & Fall
3. Letting Go
4. Under the Sky
5. The Day Unfolds
6. Indigo Highway
7. Lisa
8. The Reaper
9. Knowing to Trust

Pre-order When It Comes.

Latest Coverage