Dana Gavanski Announces New Album 'Late Slap,' Shares "How to Feel Uncomfortable"

The lead single comes alongside a video directed by Ella Margolin, sister to Porridge Radio's Dana Margolin

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Jan 8, 2024

Serbian-Canadian singer-songwriter Dana Gavanski has announced the details of her third album, previewed by the release of new single "How to Feel Uncomfortable."

Co-produced by the artist and James Howard (Rozi Plain, Alabaster dePlume), Late Slap will hit us all across the face on April 5 via Full Time Hobby. It follows Gavanski's 2022 sophomore record, When It Comes.

"The album holds together the seemingly disparate aspects of my character that I have sometimes tried to repress," Gavanski shared in a press release. "With this album I'm letting them into the room, celebrating them for all their strangeness — a strangeness which I think we all, on some level, share."

Elevating her usual guitar-and-voice approach to demoing, the singer-songwriter taught herself Logic Pro to give the "somewhat neo-Luddite anthems" (per press materials) she was composing an even greater sense of irony. Gavanski later brought them to life over the course of five days at MESS, producer Mike Lindsay's (Tunng, LUMP) studio in Margate, UK.

Having familiarized herself with getting out of her comfort zone stretch her artistry, it's fitting that Late Slap opens with "How to Feel Uncomfortable." The track's defiant horns and Gavanski's stately, airborne vocals will undeniably draw Cate Le Bon comparisons.

Watch the video for "How to Feel Uncomfortable" — directed by Ella Margolin, sister to Porridge Radio's Dana Margolin — below, where you'll also find the full album tracklist.

Late Slap:

1. How to Feel Uncomfortable
2. Let Them Row
3. Late Slap
4. Ears Were Growing
5. Singular Coincidence 
6. Song for Rachel
7. Eye on Love
8. Ribbon
9. Dark Side
10. Reiteration

Pre-order Late Slap.

Latest Coverage