Bloc Party Play 'Alpha Games' on New Album

Hear "Traps" from the group's first LP since 2016
Bloc Party Play 'Alpha Games' on New Album
Bloc Party have detailed their first new album since 2016. The English indie outfit will share Alpha Games on April 29 via Infectious Music/BMG.

Following 2016's Hymns, the 12-song Alpha Games was produced by Nick Launay and Adam Greenspan (Nick Cave, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, IDLES) and is previewed today by "Traps," which you can hear below.

"Traps" sports a similar spirit to something like "Banquet" from their beloved 2005 debut Silent Alarm, and as singer, songwriter and guitarist Kele Okereke shares in a statement, "From the moment we wrote 'Traps,' we knew it had to be the first thing people heard from this album; playing it in soundchecks on our last tour before it was finished and hearing how it sounded in those big rooms and outdoors."

In the time since Bloc Party released Hymns, Okereke has shared three solo albums: 2017's Fatherland, 2019's 2042 and last year's The Waves Pt. 1.

Alpha Games:

1. Day Drinker
2. Traps
3. You Should Know the Truth
4. Callum Is a Snake
5. Rough Justice
6. The Girls Are Fighting
7. Of Things Yet to Come
8. Sex Magik
9. By Any Means Necessary
10. In Situ
11. If We Get Caught
12. The Peace Offering