Aqua Announce 25th Anniversary Reissue of 'Aquarium'

The vinyl re-release will arrive on pink and white colourways

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jul 29, 2022

Aqua's seminal 1997 album Aquarium turned 25 in 2022, and to celebrate, the Danish pop group have shared plans for a forthcoming anniversary edition that will see the record reissued on vinyl on September 9.

Arriving digitally and pressed onto vinyl in pink and white colourways, the record will feature all 11 original Aquarium tracks — including "Barbie Girl," "Doctor Jones," "Roses Are Red," "Happy Boys & Girls" and more — plus the limited edition bonus track "Didn't I."

"With the release of our debut album, we had six major hit singles and experienced great success around the world," Lene Nystrøm said of the album, describing it as the "ultimate Aqua moment."

She added: "We wanted to make the best pop album in the world, and take Aqua to a new universe, a new sound, searching for the good tunes and lyrics that always has been Aqua's trademark."

Revisit "Barbie Girl" below, and see the album's tracklisting below. Aquarium 25th Anniversary Edition is available for pre-order.


1. Happy Boys & Girls
2. My Oh My
3. Barbie Girl
4. Good Morning Sunshine
5. Doctor Jones
6. Heat of the Night
7. Be a Man
8. Lollipop (Candyman)
9. Roses Are Red
10. Turn Back Time
11. Calling You
12. Didn't I

Latest Coverage