André Ethier and Joseph Shabason Form Fresh Pepper, Announce Debut Album

The record features contributions by Dan Bejar, members of Bernice, the Weather Station and Beverly Glenn-Copeland's band

Photo: Colin Medley

BY Allie GregoryPublished Apr 20, 2022

Toronto music mainstays André Ethier and Joseph Shabason have announced their debut album as Fresh Pepper. They'll deliver the self-titled project on June 17 via Telephone Explosion Records.

The record finds the pair teaming up with fellow Canadian music industry pals, including members of the Weather Station and Beverly Glenn-Copeland's band, Bernice's Robin Dann and Felicity Williams and Destroyer's Dan Bejar, who appears on "Seahorse Tranquilizer."

Today, we're getting a taste of what's to come with lead single "Congee Around Me," which you can listen to below. There, you can also find the album's tracklisting.

In 2021, Ethier released Further Up Island, which came with a soothing, Stardew Valley-themed music video for album cut "Wild Goldfish." His 2019 record Croak in the Weeds landed among Exclaim!'s Best Folk and Country Albums of 2019. Last year, Shabason shared third solo album The Fellowship.

Fresh Pepper:

1. New Ways of Chopping Onions
2. Walkin'
3. Prep Cook in the Weeds
4. Waiting
5. Seahorse Tranquilizer (feat. Dan Bejar)
6. Dishpit
7. Congee Around Me
8. The Worm

Pre-order Fresh Pepper.

Latest Coverage