Alex Lifeson's Envy of None Announce Debut Album, Share New Song "Liar"

The Rush guitarist formed the band with Coney Hatch's Andy Curran, Alfio Annibalini and Maiah Wynne

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jan 12, 2022

Following an initial introduction last year, Envy of None — the group featuring Rush guitarist Alex Lifeson, Coney Hatch vocalist/bassist Andy Curran, Alfio Annibalini and Maiah Wynne — have detailed their debut album.

Envy of None will deliver their self-titled 11-song debut on April 8 via Kscope. It features both "Kabul Blues" and "Spy House," which Lifeson previously shared as instrumentals, and is previewed today with "Liar," which you can hear alongside a lyric video below.

It was a longtime friendship between Lifeson and Curran that led to the band's inception, but Envy of None are upfront about how they "aren't Rush or Coney Hatch and far more than them of its collective parts." Highlighting vocalist Wynne, the band liken her performance to "[hearing] Shirley Manson of Garbage or Amy Lee of Evanescence for the first time."

Curran has previously shared that the material sounds "like, if you can picture maybe Massive Attack with a little bit of some electronic stuff with Nine Inch Nails influences, with this beautiful, fragile, sweet voice and some very, very dark heavy sounds."

Considering the involvement of Lifeson, and Kscope's historic support of progressive music, Envy of None share that "the '70s prog/Rush comparisons" don't run deeper than the album's artwork.

As Curran explains, "[the] [Hipgnosis] style artwork of albums like Pink Floyd and Led Zeppelin and others were so eye catching, surreal and attention grabbing and we wanted to scratch that itch. We were instantly drawn to Lebanese photographer Eli Rezkallah at Plastik's photography and design work. We fell in love with a bunch of his work — we had a hard time choosing something because he had so many great images."

Lifeson worked in a jam session with Crown Lands — who are noted Rush fans — before 2021 was out. Last October also saw him share solo song "Cherry Lopez Lullaby."

Lifeson and his Rush bandmates recently became the latest rock legends to get their own pinball machine.

Envy of None:

1. Never Said I Love You
2. Shadow
3. Look Inside
4. Liar
5. Spy House
6. Dog's Life
7. Kabul Blues
8. Old Strings
9. Dumb
10. Enemy
11. Western Sunset

Latest Coverage