​The Who Announce New Album 'WHO,' Share Protest Song "Ball & Chain"

​The Who Announce New Album 'WHO,' Share Protest Song 'Ball & Chain'
The Who will release a brand new studio album titled WHO on November 22 via Polydor Records. It marks the band's first LP in 13 years, following up 2006's Endless Wire.
The album tackles topics like Brexit, the Grenfell Tower fire, spirituality and "an old rock star who has lost his marbles," but the first song to be unveiled is a Guantanamo Bay protest song called "Ball & Chain."
Listen to "Ball & Chain" below.
In a statement, Pete Townshend explained that except for two songs, all the tracks on WHO were written last year — and they're not trying to recapture any former rock'n'roll glory.
"Roger [Daltrey] and I are both old men now, by any measure, so I've tried to stay away from romance, but also from nostalgia if I can," Townshend said. "I didn't want to make anyone feel uncomfortable. Memories are okay, and some of the songs refer to the explosive state of things today."

Earlier this year, Daltrey said, "I think it's been important for Pete 'cause he doesn't want to be seen as someone going out peddling what he did 50 years ago. He's still current, and the stuff he's writing now will prove that."

In recent years, Daltrey has expressed fears that he may lose his voice in a few years. He asks fans at live shows to refrain from smoking, in an attempt to preserve his voice.

The album artwork is pictured above, and the full tracklisting can be found below.
1. All This Music Must Fade
2. Ball & Chain
3. I Don't Wanna Get Wise
4. Detour
5. Beads On One String
6. Hero Ground Zero
7. Street Song
8. I'll Be Back
9. Break The News
10. Rockin' In Rage
11. She Rocked My World