The Flaming Lips Announce New Album 'American Head'

Listen to record closer "My Religion Is You" now

BY Josiah HughesPublished Jun 26, 2020

While there are unfortunately no music festivals for Wayne Coyne to bust out his plastic ball at, the Flaming Lips will still return with a new album called American Head later this year.

The LP, which is made up of 13 new songs about drugs and general freakiness, will arrive on September 11 via Warner

In a press release for the album, Coyne said, "The music and songs that make up the American Head album are based in a feeling. A feeling that, I think, can only be expressed through music and songs. We were, while creating it, trying to NOT hear it as sounds... but to feel it. Mother's sacrifice, Father's intensity, Brother's insanity, Sister's rebellion... I can't quite put it into words."

American Head includes the previously released "Flowers of Neptune 6," which reportedly featured harmonies from Kacey Musgraves. She's also fully credited on the album's "God and the Policeman."

Ahead of the album's arrival, you can watch a brand new video for album closer "My Religion Is You" below, where you'll also find the full tracklist.

Last year, the Flaming Lips released King's Mouth: Music and Songsas well as treated their classic album The Soft Bulletin to a vinyl reissue and a new live album. In March, the group also teamed up with Deap Vally to release a self-titled album as Deap Lips.


American Head:

1. Will You Return / When You Come Down
2. Watching the Lightbugs Glow
3. Flowers of Neptune 6
4. Dinosaurs on the Mountain
5. At the Movies on Quaaludes
6. Mother I've Taken LSD
7. Brother Eye
8. You n Me Sellin' Weed
9. Mother Please Don't Be Sad
10. When We Die When We're High
11. Assassins of Youth
12. God and the Policeman (ft. Kacey Musgraves)
13. My Religion Is You

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage