T Bone Burnett Gets Weyes Blood, Lucius for First Solo Album in 18 Years

'The Other Side' also features contributions from Rosanne Cash and Steven Soles

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Feb 28, 2024

T Bone Burnett has detailed a new solo album. The award-winning composer, producer and songwriter will share The Other Side on April 19 via Verve Forecast.

Burnett's 15th solo album, The Other Side is the artist's first proper solo effort since 2006's The True False Identity. In the time since, Burnett has released soundtrack albums, live recordings and LPs of experimental spoken word material.

Now, Burnett's focus is less on himself, and more on "you" with these 12 new songs. "I was reading a news story that some shocking percentage of Number One hit songs had the word 'you' in the title," he shares in a statement. "I view the purpose of art as creating conscience, so I was constantly appealing to people’s consciences, but I realized when a songwriter uses the word 'you,' he is, of course, in the world of conscience, but he's also in the world of people's dreams. And when you enter into people’s dreams, you have to be very careful with them."

The first of those "yous" arrives with the gentle "Waiting for You," one of three songs on the album featuring Lucius. The Other Side also includes collaborations with Weyes Blood, Roseanne Cash and Steven Soles, and was co-produced by Burnett, Colin Linden and Mike Piersante.

Burnett has also announced live dates in Nashville behind the album, with further details available via his official website.


The Other Side:

1. He Came Down
2. Come Back (When You Go Away)
3. (I’m Gonna Get Over This) Some Day [with Roseanne Cash]
4. Waiting For You (with Lucius)
5.The Pain Of Love (with Lucius)
6. The Race Is Won (with Lucius)
7. Sometimes I Wonder (with Weyes Blood)
8. Hawaiian Blue Song
9. The First Light of Day
10. Everything and Nothing
11. The Town That Time Forgot
12. Little Darling

Latest Coverage