Margo Price Announces New Album 'Strays II'

Hear the first act of the follow-up to 'Strays'

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Aug 22, 2023

It was only January of this year that Margo Price released her fourth studio record, Strays, and she has already announced its sequel — previewed today by the three songs comprising the follow-up record's first act.

Strays II arrives on October 13 on Loma Vista Recordings. Its nine tracks are organized into three acts, respectively dubbed Topanga Canyon, Mind Travel and Burn Whatever's Left.

The lore surrounding Strays involved a rumoured trip to South Carolina in 2020, when Price and her husband did a bunch of shrooms and the singer-songwriter began working on the album. Naturally, much of the music of Strays II also has roots there and then.

Featuring appearances from Big Thief's Buck Meek, Jonathan Wilson and Ny Oh, the first act was named after the location of the studio where Price and her band recorded Strays.

"The title track is the story of how my husband Jeremy and I met and fell in love in Nashville two decades ago," she said of opening track "Strays," going on to explain that subsequent cut "Closer I Get" was a co-write between the two of them.

"Malibu," on the other hand, was written with Mike Campbell, but reflects upon the couple's excursion through the canyon to flee a forest fire and rescue Price's guitar from their Airbnb. "I wanted to write something with a country funk/Bobbie Gentry feel, a good long rambling story about the minutiae of the day, like 'Ode to Billy Joe,'" she explained. "Mike added the long 'California' yodel and the bridge and was exactly what the song needed."

Listen to all three tracks below, where you'll also find the full tracklisting for Strays II.

Strays II:

Act I: Topanga Canyon
1. Strays
2. Closer I Get (feat. Ny Oh)
3. Malibu (feat. Jonathan Wilson, Buck Meek)

Act II: Mind Travel
4. Black Wolf Blues
5. Mind Travel
6. Unoriginal Sin (feat. Mike Campbell)

Act III: Burn Whatever's Left
7. Homesick (feat. Jonathan Wilson)
8. Where Did We Go Wrong
9. Burn Whatever's Left

Pre-order Strays II.

Latest Coverage