Linkin Park's Mike Shinoda Announces Solo Album 'Dropped Frames, Vol. 1'

Listen to three new singles from the forthcoming effort

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jun 30, 2020

Mike Shinoda of Linkin Park has announced plans for a new solo record, compiled during lockdown with the help of his Twitch channel fans. The album, titled Dropped Frames, Vol. 1, arrives July 10 via the artist's own Kenji Kobayashi Productions.

For the project, Shinoda enlisted his followers to lend him their musical talent online, resulting in the compilation of seven vocalists on one of his new singles, "Open Door." Today, that track — alongside "Super Galaxtica" and "Osiris" — are available to stream.

"Dropped Frames is just as much about the live channel as it is about the 'album.' The collection of songs is a highlight reel of the tracks I make on the channel, but a big part of the experience is the stream itself," Shinoda explained in a statement.

He added: "When I start, I usually have very little idea of where it will go. What comes out is a product of the viewers' suggestions, my spur-of-the-moment ideas, and whatever inexplicable magic is floating in between."

Dropped Frames, Vol. 1 follows the release of Shinoda's debut LP under his own name, 2018's Post Traumatic.

Listen to some of the album's new tracks below, where you'll also find its full tracklisting.

Dropped Frames, Vol. 1:

1. Open Door
2. Super Galaxtica
3. Duckbot
4. Cupcake Cake
5. El Rey Demonio
6. Doodle Buzz
7. Channeling Pt. 1 (feat. Dan Mayo)
8. Osiris
9. Babble Bobble
10. Session McSessionface
11. Neon Crickets
12. Booty Down

Pre-order Dropped Frames, Vol. 1.

Latest Coverage