Lana Del Rey Wants It Darker on New Bleachers Single "Alma Mater"

The new self-titled album from superproducer Jack Antonoff's project arrives in March

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Nov 15, 2023

It's Jack Antonoff's music industry and we're just living in it. The superproducer to the stars has announced the fourth studio album from his band Bleachers — previewed today by new single "Alma Mater," featuring frequent collaborator Lana Del Rey.

Bleachers is set to arrive March 8 via Dirty Hit. It follows 2021's Take the Sadness Out of Saturday Night and 2017's Gone Now.

As opposed to the four-on-the-floor of recent single "Modern Girl," on "Alma Mater," Antonoff treads more into the yawning sonic atmosphere of Del Rey's Did you know that there's a tunnel under Ocean Blvd — a 2023 year-end list contender, to be sure — but with the addition of the echoey synth splashes and jittery drum machines that populated the likes of Taylor Swift's Midnights (and a nostalgia-drenched horn section, as per).

In an assumed Leonard Cohen reference, Del Rey's repeated refrain of "I'll make it darker" is the pretty element that glues it all together.

Listen to "Alma Mater" below, where you'll also find the album tracklist.


1. I Am Right on Time
2. Modern Girl
3. Jesus Is Dead
4. Me Before You
5. Alma Mater
6. Tiny Moves
7. Isimo
8. Woke Up Today
9. Self Respect
10. Hey Joe
11. Call Me After Midnight
12. We're Gonna Know Each Other Forever
13. Ordinary Heaven
14. The Waiter

Pre-order Bleachers.

Latest Coverage