Joni Mitchell Details Newport Folk Festival Live Album

Featuring appearances by Brandi Carlile, Marcus Mumford, Lucius and more

BY Allie GregoryPublished May 11, 2023

As promised, Joni Mitchell's surprise Newport Folk Festival concert on July 24 last summer is getting its own live album. The legendary singer-songwriter will deliver Joni Mitchell at Newport on July 28 via Rhino.

The record comes with liner notes by Cameron Crowe, who remembers of that July day: "Mitchell emerged from the side of the stage, swaying smoothly, in fine summer-style with beret and sunglasses. Her good-natured mood instantly set the tone."

Crowe continues:

This performance would be an intimate gathering of friends, not unlike the Joni Jams she'd been hosting in her own living room over the last few years of recovery. Smiling broadly, Mitchell made her surprise appearance, taking her on-stage seat alongside [Brandi] Carlile. Within minutes, the news had rocketed around the globe. Mitchell was back, sparkling with enthusiasm, delivering a tender and passionate set of 13 songs, ending with a joyful sing-along of "The Circle Game."

The record also credits its guest players, Brandi Carlile, Wynonna Judd, Taylor Goldsmith, Celisse, Marcus Mumford and Lucius, who joined Mitchell on stage that day.

Watch Mitchell perform "Both Sides Now" below, where you can also find the live album's tracklist.

Joni Mitchell at Newport:

1. Introduction by Brandi Carlile
2. Big Yellow Taxi feat. Lucius
3. A Case of You feat. Marcus Mumford
4. Amelia feat. Taylor Goldsmith
5. Both Sides Now
6. Just Like This Train
7. Summertime
8. Carey feat. Brandi Carlile
9. Help Me feat. Celisse
10. Come in From the Cold feat. Taylor Goldsmith
11. Shine feat. Brandi Carlile
12. The Circle Game

Latest Coverage