Geoffroy Announces New Album 'Good Boy,' Shares "C.A.Y.A."

It's the follow-up to the Quebec singer-songwriter's 2022 LP, 'Live Slow Die Wise'

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Apr 19, 2024

Mononymous Quebec singer-songwriter Geoffroy has announced his fourth studio album, led by new single "C.A.Y.A."

Good Boy comes when called on June 14. It follows the artist's sophomore effort, 2022's Live Slow Die Wise, and was made with Geoffroy's longtime production partners, Clément Leduc and Gabriel Gagnon. The record was inspired by Papi, the dog Geoffroy befriended — and ultimately adopted — during a trip to Mexico.

"Live Slow Die Wise had a slower pace and I was eager to step away from the nostalgia and melancholy I had visited and analyzed plenty in the past," the singer-songwriter explained in a statement. "I did what felt natural, a feel-good album (I think) that shed the weight of the other ones. I feel I'm getting closer to the sound I'm looking for, though I might be chasing something that's faster than me."

Of lead single "C.A.Y.A.," Geoffroy continued: 

This one was a real challenge. I spent over a year messing around with the instrumental, trying to come up with the perfect topline. Had some awesome ideas, but none of them felt quite right. Still, I couldn't give up on this track. There was something special about the music, and I was determined to figure it out. Then, just before our last recording session, it finally clicked: the chorus came to me out of the blue, and everything else just fell into place. This song is all about being real and true to yourself, no matter what. It's about sticking to who you are, even when the world tries to push you to change.

Watch the Kyle Smith-directed video, filmed in Thailand, for "C.A.Y.A." below, where you'll also find the album tracklist.

Good Boy:

1. Only Child 
2. Hotel Bed 
3. Early Morning Sun 
4. Blue 
5. C.A.Y.A. 
6. First Impressions 
7. Recuerdo De Ti 
8. Mac N Cheese 
9. State of Mind (Interlude) 
10. Over You 

Latest Coverage