FKA twigs Releases Surprise EP

BY Alex HudsonPublished Aug 13, 2015

Rumours had been swirling throughout the year that shadowy, experimental electro-pop songwriter FKA twigs had a new EP in the works. Now, without any warning, the EP has been released through Young Turks.

The five-song set is titled M3LL155X. It includes the previously released songs "Figure 8" and "Glass & Patron." The EP has been unveiled along with videos for each song (except for closer "Mothercreep"); listen to the entire EP and see the accompanying visuals at the bottom of this page. It's classic twigs: the songs are adventurous, electronic art-pop experiments, while the videos are flashy and cryptic. The cover art is above.

The title of M3LL155X is presumably pronounced as "Melissa." The singer previously told Complex, "The EP is called Melissa, and 'Melissa' to me is my personal female energy. I've never called it 'Melissa' before the EP. It's not a weird alter ego. It's just my way of separating it from myself."

The EP will be available to purchase on iTunes, although it's not yet on the Canadian iTunes store as of press time. A vinyl release is in the works. A website for the EP can be found at


1. Figure 8
2. I'm Your Doll
3. In Time
4. Glass & Patron
5. Mothercreep

Latest Coverage