Evening Hymns Detail 'Quiet Energies' LP

Evening Hymns Detail 'Quiet Energies' LP
Earlier this year, Evening Hymns' Jonas Bonnetta spoke to Exclaim! about a number of musical projects that he had in the works, and now he's officially announced plans for the release of Evening Hymns' latest LP Quiet Energies.
The new album will arrive in North America on September 18 through Outside Music. It marks the follow-up to 2012's extremely personal Spectral Dusk.
Quiet Energies was recorded with James Bunton at Bonnetta's home studio in rural Ontario, along with his band consisting of Jon Hynes and Andrew Kekewich. In the aforementioned interview, Bonnetta noted an "extended cast of players" that included the Wooden Sky's Gavin Gardiner, Sylvie Smith and Mika Posen.
"The songs are very much in line with how I'm living my life now," he told Exclaim! "Before, I was dreaming that I would be some place more rural, where life is a little bit slower and quieter, so the record's about that in a lot of ways. I have a huge respect for that now."
A new press release describes the album as both being inspired by and providing the perfect soundtrack to a road trip. "I was in LA and drove out to Joshua Tree to spend the day wandering around and shooting Super-8 film," said Bonnetta. "I had been listening to so much Tom Petty on that trip, and it kind of came to me that this record was a journey. A road trip album. A driving album."
As for the record's title, the press release quotes Bonnetta explaining the phrase Quiet Energies as "the concept that all of this pent-up energy could be stored inside these quiet moments — a whisper that could be as effective as an explosion."
Evening Hymns will be debuting some of the new material during their slot at Oro Medonte's upcoming WayHome festival from July 24 to 26, with more tour dates to be announced later this year.
Below, see the Quiet Energies tracklist previously shared by Bonnetta, and keep scrolling to watch a new album teaser in the player at the bottom of the page.
Quiet Energies:
1. If I Were A Portal
2. Evil Forces
3. House of Mirrors
4. Rescue Teams
5. Oh Man You'll Walk Again And Again
6. Connect The Lines
7. All My Life I Have Been Running
8. Light As A Feather