Evening Hymns Announces New Album 'Heavy Nights'

Jonas Bonnetta has also shared a new single "My Drugs, My Dreams"

BY Allie GregoryPublished May 8, 2020

Jonas Bonnetta — perhaps better known musically as Evening Hymns — has announced plans for his fourth studio album under the moniker, a collection titled Heavy Nights. The record was self-produced at Bonnetta's Port William Sound studio in rural Ontario and arrives via the artist's own label, Shuffling Feet Records, on June 26.

Heavy Nights features a host of collaborators, including Destroyer saxophonist Joseph Shabason and José Contreras of By Divine Right and his partner, Boyhood's Caylie Runciman. Today, Evening Hymns has shared the album's second single, "My Drugs, My Dreams" alongside a Monika Kraska-directed music video.

Bonnetta elaborated on the track in the following statement:

I wrote this song in my living room right after my breakup, totally terrified and alone. Again, all these huge questions came back to me and I was so confused and drained. I'd just hurt this person that I loved and had loved for so long and who I had had all of these formative experiences with: touring the world, moving to the country, grieving my father. I wanted to remember it forever, to be present, to learn from it, and so drew the picture. I'd always had this feeling that love should feel good wherever you are, in some idyllic place or in some run-down miserable apartment. I wanted to be happy with nothing. To take away my vices and my dreams and still feel free and hopeful and capable of love.

"My Drugs, My Dreams" follows the release of the album's lead single "I Can Only Be Good."

Bonnetta's last album as Evening Hymns was 2015's Quiet Energies. The artist spent his time between recordings collaborating with the Wooden Sky's Edwin Huizinga and releasing an album of ambient music titled All This Here back in 2018.

Watch the video for "My Drugs, My Dreams" below, where you'll also find the forthcoming record's tracklisting.

Heavy Nights:

1. I Can Only Be Good
2. Heavy Nights
3. Pyrenees
4. The Days Disintegrating
5. You In Dreams
6. My Drugs, My Dreams
7. Kiss My Dreams
8. Halfway To The Moon

Pre-order Heavy Nights.

Latest Coverage