Daniel Rossen, Christopher Bear & the National "Terrapin Station (suite)"

Daniel Rossen, Christopher Bear & the National 'Terrapin Station (suite)'
As previously reported, the National have been compiling a gigantic Grateful Dead-honouring box set for a few years now, which they've called Day of the Dead. Before the 59-song release drops in full, you can hear members of Grizzly Bear, the National and a full orchestra jam out to the Dead's "Terrapin Station (Suite)."

Originally delivered on the Grateful Dead's Terrapin Station from 1977, the cover has Grizzly Bear guy Daniel Rossen taking on lead vocals. His soft tremors are backed by drummer Christopher Bear, guitar and bass work from the National's Aaron Dessner and Scott Devendorf, a full orchestra led by Bryce Dessner, the Brooklyn Youth choir and many more.

All told, there are about 50 musicians on the epic, winding rock song. You can hear it below, while the full credits can be explored over here.

Day of the Dead lands as a five-CD set May 20 via 4AD. It's many contributors also include Anohni, Bonnie "Prince" Billy, Angel Olson, the War on Drugs, Bruce Hornsby, Perfume Genius, Sharon Van Etten, Courtney Barnett, Charles Bradley, the Walkmen and more.