The Cave Singers Announce 'Naomi'

The Cave Singers Announce 'Naomi'
Seattle's the Cave Singers have been offering up a steady stream of back-porch strummers for a few years now, and they've announced they're adding another folksy full-length to their repertoire. Their fourth LP, Naomi, drops via Jagjaguwar on March 5.

A press release explains that the core trio of vocalist Peter Quirk, guitarist Derek Fudesco and drummer Marty Lund are now joined by former Blood Brothers/current Fleet Foxes bassist Morgan Henderson. Despite further intensifying the band's punk rock pedigree — the group includes ex-members of the Murder City Devils, Pretty Girls Make Graves and Hint Hint — the use of Quirk's roughed-up vocals and polyrhythmic arrangements are said to point towards a "gorgeous, flowering new sound."

The album, which follows last year's No Witch, is described as being "full of love and suffering, surrender and redemption: the messy stuff of life." Lyrically, it reportedly homes in on "addiction, car ownership, fireworks, tree houses, moving to New Mexico, and God."

You can check out the wistful new tune "Have to Pretend," driven by Quirk's country croon and some rumbling tom work, down below.

The Cave Singers are playing a handful of dates around the Pacific Northwest this week, including a stop at Vancouver's Rickshaw Theatre on Saturday (December 8) and the day after in Victoria. You can check the schedule beneath the tracklist.


1. Canopy
2. Have to Pretend
3. No Tomorrows
4. It's A Crime
5. Week to Week
6. Evergreens
7. Shine
8. Karen's Car
9. Easy Way
10. Northern Lights
11. Early Moon

12. When the World

Tour dates:

12/6 Portland, OR - Doug Fir Lounge ^
12/7 Seattle, WA - The Showbox ^
12/8 Vancouver, BC - Rickshaw Theatre *
12/9 Victoria, BC - Sugar Nightclub *
12/10 Bellingham, WA - The Whatcom Museum *

  ^ with Poor Moon, Rose Windows
* with Poor Moon