Bonny Light Horseman Announce New Album 'Rolling Golden Holy'

Listen to the album's lead single "California"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jun 8, 2022

Having just debuted some new tracks in Toronto on tourBonny Light Horseman — the folk supergroup of Anaïs Mitchell, Fruit Bats' Eric D. Johnson and Josh Kaufman — have announced plans to drop a new album titled Rolling Golden Holy on October 7 via 37d03d.

The 11-track release — which comprises all-original material, contrasting their folk traditional-based debut self-titled album — is previewed with new single "California." The track was written somewhere between Aaron Dessner's Long Pond studio and the band's "spiritual home," an old church called Dreamland.

"Our first record was largely centred on the old world, whether it was some sort of mythical sweeping landscape on some British Isle, or maybe the old cities of the American East," Johnson said of the single.

He continued: "This is probably our first West Coast song. It's a sad one, a story about pulling up roots, new beginnings, goodbyes, early morning long drives, riding into the sunrise instead of the sunset. They usually don't end movies riding into the sunrise but this movie has that scene."

The band are trekking around North America with their old and new material this summer, fall and winter. Following their Toronto show, they've lined up only one more Canadian date at the Edmonton Folk Festival, which runs from August 4 to 7. See their full tour schedule here.

Listen to their latest below, where you'll also see the album's tracklisting.

Rolling Golden Holy:

1. Exile
2. Comrade Sweetheart
3. California
4. Summer Dream
5. Gone by Fall
6. Sweetbread
7. Someone to Weep for Me
8. Fleur de Lis
9. Once on Another Day
10. Fair Annie
11. Cold Rain and Snow

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage