The Hold Steady Announce New Album 'The Price of Progress'

Craig Finn and co. are previewing the record with "Sideways Skull"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jan 4, 2023

The Hold Steady have announced their new album The Price of Progress. It's due March 31 through the band's own Positive Jams label via Thirty Tigers

The news arrives with the debut of a new single, "Sideways Skull," which is produced by the inimitable Josh Kaufman (Bonny Light Horseman, Muzz). 

"'Sideways Skull' is a rocking song about rock and rollers," frontman Craig Finn said of the track in a statement. "In this case, they've been taken out of the game for a bit of rest, but still keep their dreams alive as they discuss past glories. We loved the big sound of this when Tad Kubler brought it into the band, and the studio performance of it felt especially joyful. We're happy to put this forth as a first look at The Price of Progress, and the album's title even comes from this song."

Further details on the project remain scant, but Finn promises "some of the most cinematic songs in the Hold Steady catalogue," adding, "and the record was a joy to make. I feel like we went somewhere we haven't before, which is a very exciting thing for a band that is two decades into our career."

The effort will serve as the longstanding alt-rock outfit's ninth studio album and follow-up to 2021's Open Door Policy.

Listen to "Sideways Skull" below, where you'll also find the album's tracklisting, and stay tuned for more details as they unfold.

The Price of Progress:

1. Grand Junction
2. Sideways Skull
3. Carlos Is Crying
4. Understudies
5. Sixers
6. The Birdwatchers
7. City at Eleven
8. Perdido
9. Distortions of Faith
10. Flyover Halftime

Latest Coverage