Whitney Rose Follows 'Rule 62' on New LP

Hear the first single "Can't Stop Shakin'" now
Whitney Rose Follows 'Rule 62' on New LP
After delivering her South Texas Suite EP at the top of this year, Whitney Rose has shared the details behind her sophomore full-length. Titled Rule 62, the LP will arrive October 6 through Six Shooter Records.

Rose recorded the 11-track Rule 62 in Nashville alongside producer Raul Malo and co-produer Niko Bolas. The LP is said to find the PEI-bred country singer "breaking up with patriarchy" with a batch of new songs that demonstrate "verve, swagger and self-assurance in Rose's instinctive sense of tone, broadened scope and attention to detail."

Rose has also shared a track from the record ahead of time with "Can't Stop Shakin'." Originally written as an anti-anxiety song, the song was soon reframed after hitting the studio to record the song on the day Donald Trump became president of the United States.

"'Can't Stop Shakin' started out as something I would sing to calm myself down." Rose said of the track in a statement. "We recorded that song on Inauguration day and you could physically feel the divide between the public and the unrest in the air. I was in the studio that week every day for twelve hours on average, so realized my contribution was going to have to take place within the walls of [Blackbird Studio]. So the song that started as a personal anthem got a rewrite that day."

Read through the tracklist for Rule 62 below. Rose will return to Canada on August 20 to play Winnipeg's Interstellar Rodeo, while a press release reveals that more fall tour dates are incoming.

Rule 62:

1. I Don't Want Half (I Just Want Out)
2. Arizona
3. Better to My Baby
4. You Never Cross My Mind
5. You Don't Scare Me
6. Can't Stop Shakin'
7. Tied to the Wheel
8. Trucker's Funeral
9. Wake Me in Wyoming
10. You're a Mess
11. Time to Cry