​The Mountain Goats Go Totally Goth for New Album

​The Mountain Goats Go Totally Goth for New Album
Fresh off the release of frontman John Darnielle's latest novel Universal Harvester, the Mountain Goats have revealed plans for their next album. The follow-up to 2015's Beat the Champ is titled Goths, and it will arrive on May 19 via Merge.
The album was recorded at Blackbird in Nashville with producer Brandon Eggleston and marks a rather impressive 16th studio offering from the band.
While the Mountain Goats' last LP tackled the world of wrestling, the forthcoming full-length is delving into the dark realms of goth culture. There are tracks titled "Wear Black," "Paid in Cocaine" and "For the Portuguese Goth Metal Bands," as well as songs that range from mildly gloomy themes ("Rain in Soho," "Shelved") to full-on death metal-esque epics ("The Grey King and the Silver Flame Attunement," "Stench of the Unburied," "Abandoned Flesh.")
The first listen to the new material has landed with "Andrew Eldritch Is Moving Back to Leeds," which tells the story of a washed-up Motörhead jacket-wearing man moving back to his UK hometown. Scroll past the Goths tracklist to give it a spin.
1. Rain in Soho
2. Andrew Eldritch is Moving Back to Leeds
3. The Grey King and the Silver Flame Attunement
4. We Do It Different on the West Coast
5. Unicorn Tolerance
6. Stench of the Unburied
7. Wear Black
8. Paid in Cocaine
9. Rage of Travers
10. Shelved
11. For the Portuguese Goth Metal Bands
12. Abandoned Flesh