Roísín Murphy Announces Remix Album 'Crooked Machine'

Listen to a rework of last year's "Simulation" by DJ Parrot
Roísín Murphy Announces Remix Album 'Crooked Machine'
Roísín Murphy and producer Crooked Man — a.k.a. DJ Parrot — have teamed up on a new remix album of tunes culled from Murphy's 2020 album, Roísín Machine. The new collection is titled Crooked Machine, and it's due to arrive on April 23 via Skint.

"Parrot doesn't try to be 'cool,' I reckon that's the last thing on his mind," Murphy said of her collaborator. "He makes music with a real sense of responsibility to the craft. He just cannot make rubbish music, he'd be too ashamed. So everything he is and everything he has learned, is put into everything he does."

She continued: "I think Crooked Machine is one of his greatest achievements so far. I left him and Fat Dave to their own devices on this and they have outdone themselves! I absolutely love it!! I think I prefer it to the original album, slightly less me and all the more 'cool' for it!"

The nine-track record is being previewed today with a remix of Murphy's "Simulation." The new version is titled "Assimilation." Listen to that below, where you can also find the record's tracklisting.

Crooked Machine:

1. Kingdom of Machines
2. Echo Returns
3. Capable Rhythm
4. Assimilation
5. Crooked Madame
6. Less Is More
7. Name Changer
8. We Are the Law
9. Hardcore Jealousy

Pre-order Crooked Machine