Paramore Share First New Music in Five Years, Announce Sixth LP

'This Is Why' is due February 10

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Sep 28, 2022

Misery business is about to (finally) resume as usual: Paramore are back.

The trio of Hayley Williams, Zac Farro and Taylor York have shared comeback single "This Is Why" — which is also the title of their forthcoming sixth LP — alongside a music video directed by Turnstile's Brendan Yates.

This Is Why is due February 10 via Atlantic. The ten-track collection follows 2017's After Laughter, as well as vocalist Williams's pair of solo albums, 2020's Petals for Armor and 2021's surprise-released FLOWERS for VASES / descansos. Paramore have been teasing the release since sharing their return to the studio in January, and in July, Manny Marroquin mentioned that he had mixed the completed album.

Today, they preview the long-awaited new music with homebody anthem "This Is Why" — a lilting funk ditty that builds into a barb-wired juggernaut.

"'This Is Why' was the very last song we wrote for the album," Williams shared in a press release. "To be honest, I was so tired of writing lyrics but Taylor convinced Zac and I both that we should work on this last idea. What came out of it was the title track for the whole album. It summarizes the plethora of ridiculous emotions, the rollercoaster of being alive in 2022, having survived even just the last three or four years. You'd think after a global pandemic of fucking biblical proportions and the impending doom of a dying planet, that humans would have found it deep within themselves to be kinder or more empathetic or something."

Prior to the song's release, Williams penned a letter to fans on Discord last night (September 7), thanking them for their continuous support through her, Farro and York's crucial time away from the band. "This was a real break from whatever living I'd done before," she noted, having founded Paramore in 2004.

"It was so rad working with Brendan," Williams said of the video. "I've known the Turnstile guys for a little while and was so psyched to have our worlds collide in this way. There's a cool kinship between the way our bands do things... Hopefully we will get to play shows with them at some point."

She added in an Apple Music interview with Zane Lowe: "That's one of the best bands in the world right now. And it's really cool that you can feel that Turnstile fingerprint on the video that we've made."

Watch the video for "This Is Why" below and keep scrolling to see the album tracklist. Paramore embark on a North American tour next month.

This Is Why:
1. This Is Why
2. The News
3. Running Out of Time
4. C'est Comme Ca
5. Big Man, Little Dignity
6. You First
7. Figure 8
8. Liar
9. Crave
10. Thick Skull

Latest Coverage