Mount Kimbie Gaze Into 'The Sunset Violent' on New Album

"Fishbrain" is the latest arrival ahead of the band's North American tour

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Feb 7, 2024

Mount Kimbie have detailed their fourth studio LP. The duo of Dominic Maker and Kai Campos, joined by long-term collaborators Andrea Balency-Béarn and Marc Pell, will share The Sunset Violent on April 5 via Warp.

While it follows 2022 release MK 3.5: Die Cuts | City Planning — which saw Maker and Campos create two halves of the album apart from one another — the nine-track Sunset Violent is said to pick up where their 2017 LP Love What Survives left off.

For the expanded outfit, that means blending "modern indie, shoegaze and electronica seamlessly." Written in California’s Yucca Valley, the LP features a pair of guest spots from recurring collaborator King Krule, in addition to the previously shared single "Dumb Guitar." 

New song "Fishbrain" arrives alongside today's album news, and you can hear it below alongside an accompanying video from director Tegen Williams, who previously helmed the video for Love What Survives single "Blue Train Lines." Telling a tale of toil in an underground fishscale textile factory, the visuals are inspired by the charcoal animations of South African artist William Kentridge. 

As previously reported, Mount Kimbie will play Toronto on a North American tour this spring, with support from George Riley, Nabihah Iqbal and Chanel Beads on select dates.

The Sunset Violent:

1. The Trail 
2. Dumb Guitar 
3. Shipwreck 
4. Boxing (feat. King Krule) 
5. Got Me 
6. A Figure in the Surf 
7. Fishbrain 
8. Yukka Tree 
9. Empty and Silent (feat. King Krule)

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage