Montreal's Maybel Unveil Sophomore Album 'Gloam'

Hear the folk supergroup's new single, "Long Road Ahead"

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Aug 2, 2023

Maybel — the Montreal folk supergroup consisting of Fez Gielen, Ali Hendra, Loris Kecaj and Lauren Spear (Le Ren) — have announced their sophomore album, previewed by new single "Long Road Ahead."

Produced by Jonas Bonetta at Port William Sound with instrumental contributions from Eliza Niemi and Caylie Runciman, Gloam arrives on October 27 through Idée Fixe. It follows the band's 2020 debut, Gathering.

The album's title is derived from an old Scottish word for "twilight," which the outfit says is the space and time that the songs take place: "In transition, between sleeping and waking — a quiet underworld where one is alone with their thoughts, in true presence with the in-between."

While it carries forth threads from Maybel's debut, Gloam is the first collection for which all four members wrote songs — mainly separately during the pandemic and then shared in the living room Spear, Hendra and Kecaj used to share. It's unsurprising, then, that their refined three-part harmonies on the atmospheric, meandering "Long Road Ahead" envelop the listener with an immediate homespun intimacy.

Listen to the song below, where you'll also find the album tracklist.


1. Long Road Ahead
2. All at Once
3. Matters
4. Ember
5. Rebloom
6. Splinters
7. Passing Through
8. Sting
9. For Nothing

Pre-order Gloam.

Latest Coverage