Loscil Forms High Plains Project for New Album

Loscil Forms High Plains Project for New Album
Not far removed from releasing his Philip Glass-inspired LP Monument Builders, Vancouver electro-acoustic veteran Loscil (a.k.a. Scott Morgan) has announced that his next project will be a collaborative one.

Morgan has teamed up with classically-trained Wisconsin cellist Mark Bridges to form High Plains, and the duo will release their first LP Cinderland next year through Kranky. The album art was created by London-based artist Peter Liversidge, which you can see above.

Nine tracks in length, Cinderland was recorded in a refurbished school house in Saratoga, WY. Inspired by their surroundings and Schubert's Die Winterreise, the record is said to evoke "a shadowy, introspective and dizzying winter journey" through cello, piano and field recordings.

Cinderland's "mix of analog and digital, neoclassical and modern electronic sounds" can be heard in the album's title track, which can be heard in the player below. The record will arrive on March 10 and is available for pre-order through Bandcamp here.

Along with the High Plains album, Morgan will also be treating his 2004 Loscil album First Narrows to its first-ever vinyl release. That's out on February 17 via Kranky, and you can pre-order it here.


1. Cinderland
2. Blood That Ran The Rapids
3. The Dusk Pines
4. A White Truck
5. Ten Sleep
6. Black Shimmer
7. Hypoxia
8. Rushlight
9. Song For A Last Night