Layten Kramer Announces 'For the Sun' LP, Shares Kathryn Calder Collaboration

Layten Kramer Announces 'For the Sun' LP, Shares Kathryn Calder Collaboration
Canmore, AB folk artist Layten Kramer is looking to kick his 2016 into high gear with his debut album For the Sun, and to help you get more familiar with the material, he'll be taking the album out on a spring tour.

The full-length arrives independently on April 29 and follows his 2014 EP Through the Days. The new nine-song release was recorded in Victoria with producer Colin Stewart (Dan Mangan, Black Mountain) and has the artist weighing in on "lucid night terrors, addiction and the struggle of finding his individuality."

In addition to Kramer's regular backing from bass/synth player Dean Kheroufi and drummer Connor Ellinger, the record features guest vocals from New Pornographers' Kathryn Calder and organ from Deep Dark Woods' Geoff Hilhorst.

A stream of For the Sun's "Nowhere to Go," which features Calder, can be found below.

As for the tour, it kicks off on April 21 in Nanaimo, BC. The 12-date trek will take the musician out from Vancouver Island into the Prairies. You'll find the full tour schedule down below.

Tour dates:

04/21 Nanaimo, BC - The Vault
04/22 Victoria, BC - Copper Owl
04/23 Vancouver, BC - The Biltmore
04/24 Kelowna, BC - Fernando's
04/25 Vernon, BC - Record City
04/28 Calgary, AB - Broken City
04/29 Banff, AB - Banff Centre
04/30 Edmonton, AB - Almanac
05/04 Twin Butte, AB - The General Store
05/05 Brooks, AB - Red Roof Studios
05/06 Regina, SK - Artful Dodger
05/07 Saskatoon, SK - Vangeli's Tavern