Laura Niquay Wins SOCAN Foundation TD Indigenous Songwriter Award

Jayli Wolf, Kristi Sinclair, Anyma, Shane Ghostkeeper and LJ Tyson received special distinction awards

Photo: Monse Muro

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Jul 7, 2022

Trois-Rivières, QC's Laura Niquay has been named the recipient of the SOCAN Foundation's annual TD Indigenous Songwriter Award for 2022.

The Attikamek artist has been recognized for her songs "Moteskano'' and "Nicto Kicko," which were included on her 2021 album Waska Matisiwin. Long-listed for last year's Polaris Prize, the folk-grunge LP was included among Exclaim!'s 25 Great Canadian Albums You Might Have Missed in 2021.

Created in 2018, the $10,000 award celebrates the artistic merit demonstrated by Indigenous songwriters working in any genre. Hundreds of artists across Canada applied and were submitted for consideration, with winners being selected by a jury and advisory council of prominent Indigenous artists and industry leaders (including those of First Nations, Métis and Inuit heritage).

Upon the news of her win, Niquay shared in a statement:

I draw my strength from my roots and the teachings of my mother and other elders. With my music I want to encourage the Atikamekw and other members of Indigenous communities to be proud of who they are, and to walk in the path of their ancestors. For me, the promotion of the Atikamekw language is very important for the transmission of language to the younger generations, but also for the awareness of the non-native public. I am honoured to be recognized with this Award, thank you to SOCAN Foundation and TD, and congratulations to all the artists being recognized for their amazing works.

Special distinction awards of $1,000 each are being awarded to Jayli WolfKristi Sinclair, Anyma, Shane Ghostkeeper and LJ Tyson.

Watch the video for "Moteskano" and listen to "Nicto Kicko" below.


Latest Coverage