Lamb of God Announce New Self-Titled Album

Check out their new single "Checkmate"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Feb 5, 2020

Much has changed in the Lamb of God camp since the release of 2015's VII: Sturm und Drang, but the Virginia metal outfit will soon return with a follow-up.  

Lamb of God have announced they will release a new self-titled album on May 8 through Epic/Nuclear Blast.

UPDATE (4/20, 12:30 p.m. ET): The album has now been postponed until June 19 due to COVID-19.

Lamb of God will mark the band's first album to feature new drummer Art Cruz (Winds of Plague, Prong), who was named as a permanent replacement for longtime beatkeeper Chris Adler last July. Cruz had been touring with the band throughout 2018 and 2019 while Adler recovered from a motorcycle accident.

Lamb of God's first single, "Checkmate," is expected to arrive tomorrow (February 7) in the wake of teasers from the band. You can find a tracklist below, which also features song titles "Reality Bath," "New Colossal Hate" and "On the Hook." That's the album's cover art above.

UPDATE (2/6, 11:30 a.m. EST): You can now watch a video for "Checkmate" below.

In 2019, Lamb of God gave their acclaimed Ashes of the Wake LP a 15th anniversary reissue. Last year also saw guitarist Mark Morton deliver his debut solo album, while vocalist Randy Blythe formed new band Over It All with members of Animals as Leaders and Sworn Enemy.

Lamb of God:

1. Memento Mori
2. Checkmate
3. Gears
4. Reality Bath
5. New Colossal Hate
6. Resurrection Man
7. Poison Dream
8. Routes
9. Bloodshot Eyes
10. On the Hook

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage