Lamb of God Guitarist Mark Morton Gets Chester Bennington, Mark Lanegan, Myles Kennedy for Solo Album

Hear Randy Blythe and Alissa White-Gluz team up on "The Truth Is Dead" from 'Anesthetic'

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Dec 14, 2018

Lamb of God guitarist Mark Morton is heading out on a new solo project, but he's hardly doing it alone. The prolific musician has roped in the likes of late Linkin Park frontman Chester Bennington, Mark Lanegan, Alter Bridge/Slash singer Myles Kennedy and more.

The very collaborative album is called Anesthetic, and it will arrive via WPP Records/Spinefarm Records on March 1.

The album contains 10 tracks, and along with all the aforementioned vocalists above, it also includes Randy Blythe, Jacoby Shaddix, Alissa White-Gluz, Chuck Billy, Jake Oni, Josh Todd, Mark Morales, and Naeemah Maddox.

As for the actual music, Morton performs all guitars, with Roy Mayorga, David Ellefson, Ray Luzier, Paolo Gregoletto, Alex Bent, Mike Inez, Jean-Paul Gaster, Steve Gorman and Marc Paul rounding out the band.

A press release explains this of the album's genesis:

Starting as idea between Jake (leader of heavy rock band Oni and founder of WPP Records), producer Josh Wilbur (Lamb of God, Trivium, Oni, Gojira), and Morton, the project quickly gathered steam — with Mark at the creative center, Josh Wilbur co-writing, recording, mixing, and producing, and Jake Oni also co-writing and performing.

In a statement, Morton himself explained, "This album wasn't a concerted effort to start something outside Lamb of God. Music is always in my head, and until I write and record it, it's stuck there. But once I record it, it's out. It's a catharsis, more for my own sanity."

For a taste of the record, you can hear "The Truth Is Dead," featuring Morton's Lamb of God bandmate Randy Blythe and Arch Enemy vocalist Alissa White-Gluz, down below, where you'll also find the tracklist.


1. Cross Off (ft. Chester Bennington)
2. Sworn Apart (ft. Jacoby Shaddix)
3. Axis (ft. Mark Lanegan)
4. The Never (ft. Chuck Billy + Jake Oni)
5. Save Defiance (ft. Myles Kennedy)
6. Blur (ft. Mark Morales)
7. Back From The Dead (ft. Josh Todd)
8. Reveal (ft. Naeemah Maddox)
9. Imaginary Days
10. Truth Is Dead (ft. Randy Blythe + Alissa White-Gluz)

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage