Jenny Berkel Unveils Daniel Romano-produced 'Pale Moon Kid'

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Feb 18, 2016

After linking up with Pheromone Recordings late last year and issuing the Cicada EP, folk singer Jenny Berkel has now announced the details behind her first proper full-length for the imprint. Her previously teased Pale Moon Kid is set to shine through speakers April 15.

A press release explains that Berkel's third album release, which follows 2012's Here on a Wire, was tracked over an eight-day period in Welland, ON, with producer Daniel Romano and Berkel's sister, Kay. According to Jenny, the songscapes reflect various locales she's lived in over the years.

"The songs on this album come from different homes across Canada," the songwriter said in a statement. "The quiet of rural Ontario, the open prairies, the rush of Toronto, and a small apartment in Montreal's Parc Extension. My life and the stories surrounding me were constantly and quickly changing. This shifting landscape of geography and people finds its home on Pale Moon Kid."

The collection is said to be a "gentle and hard-hitting" outing marked with sparse piano passages, and a "sharper" lyrical approach. Album opener "Half Dream," which the artist explained was written "on a frigid November day from an attic room in Toronto," can be streamed below.

Of the theme of the single, Berkel added: "I love being in between sleeping and waking, when dreams can be so real that they feel like lived memories."

Pale Moon Kid:

1. Half Dream
2. St. Denis
3. Wealth In The Country
4. Blue Lit Air
5. Lilac, Lily
6. Winnipeg
7. All That You Do
8. Tall Tales
9. Green Coat
10. I Wrote A Disguise (For You)
11. Pale Moon
Tour dates:

02/26 Toronto, ON - The Dakota Tavern
02/27 Montreal, QC - Bar le Ritz PDB (Le Festival D'hiver Passovah)

Latest Coverage