Hot Chip Announce New Album 'Freakout/Release,' Share Lead Single "Down"

It's the follow-up to 2019's 'A Bath Full of Ecstasy'

BY Allie GregoryPublished Apr 19, 2022

Three years on from releasing the excellent A Bath Full of Ecstasy, Hot Chip have announced their return with new album Freakout/Release, which is due for arrival on August 19 via Domino.

Freakout/Release was written and recorded at the band's Relax & Enjoy Studio in East London. The 11-track record — which features contributions by Lou Hayter and Canadian homegrown hero Cadence Weapon — is previewed today by lead single "Down."

The track is built around a looped sample of Universal Togetherness Band's "More Than Enough." It arrives alongside a strobing video directed by former Jesus and Mary Chain member Douglas Hart and Pulp's Steve Mackey.

Check that out below, where you'll also find the record's tracklisting.

Hot Chip are currently on tour, with plans to hit the Coachella stage this weekend. The band's schedule does not currently include any Canadian stops. 


1. Down
2. Eleanor
3. Freakout/Release
4. Broken
5. Not Alone
6. Hard to Be Funky feat. Lou Hayter
7. Time
8. Miss the Blues
9. The Evil That Men Do feat. Cadence Weapon
10. Guilty
11. Out of My Depth

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage