Hot Chip's Joe Goddard Unveils New Solo Album 'Harmonics'

It features guest appearances from members of Ibibio Sound Machine, Jungle, Wild Beasts, Barrie, Alabaster DePlume and more

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Apr 18, 2024

Hot Chip co-founder Joe Goddard has announced his third solo album, previewed today by lead single "Moments Die" — a collaboration with Brooklyn-based indie pop wizard Barrie.

The follow-up to 2017's Electric Lines, Harmonics is due July 12 through Domino. It includes collaborations with members of Ibibio Sound Machine, Jungle and Wild Beasts, as well as Alabaster DePlume, Hot Chip bandmates Alexis Taylor and Al Doyle, and more.

"With all the different people on this record, I've been working on how to respect the contribution they make and not trying to be the one who has to lead everything," Goddard explained in a statement. "That follows through into the songs where I'm singing. I tried to write words without having too much of an idea of what I'm trying to express, where I'm just writing a stream of consciousness."

Harmonics was inspired by "this idea of trying to divorce your conscious mind from the music-making process," Goddard adds, citing Barrie's "beautiful vocal contribution" on the new single "Moments Die" as a highlight. The lyrics for the fleet-footed deep house single draw inspiration from the John Berger book, And Our Faces, My Heart, Brief as Photos.

Watch the Nathan Castiel-directed "Moments Die" video below, where you'll also find the album tracklist.


1. Moments Die (feat. Barrie)
2. Progress (feat. Ibibio Sound Machine)
3. Destiny (feat. Findia)
4. New World (Flow) (feat. Fiorious)
5. When Love's Out of Fashion (feat. Oranje)
6. Follow You
7. On My Mind
8. Summon (feat. Hayden Thorpe)
9. When You Call (feat. Findia)
10. Out at Night
11. Mountains (feat. Alexis Taylor and Al Doyle)
12. Ghosts (feat. Tom McFarland)
13. Miles Away (feat. Falle Nioke)
14. Revery (feat. Alabaster DePlume)

Pre-order Harmonics.

Latest Coverage